top of page
michelle

Whip up a classic pumpkin pie!

This recipe uses that wonderful pumpkin puree that hopefully you've got stored away in your freezer! If not, then please read the article on making pumpkin puree. It's really pretty easy, freezes well, and will make your home smell amazing while it's cooking! It tastes fresher than the canned variety and best of all you know all of the ingredients in it...no preservatives!


I made this pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving this year and it turned out smooth, creamy and with just the right amount of spice.


If your puree is frozen, you'll need to let it thaw and let the excess water drain off before using it. I set mine up in a strainer with a coffee filter, that way I didn't lose any puree through the strainer holes. It should drain for at least 2 hours, but you can set it up to drain overnight even. It's pretty surprising how much water will drain off of it.

Once your puree is ready, you'll need 1 3/4 cups for this recipe. In reading the recipe it tells you step by step what to do. I didn't follow it exactly, and will tell you how I made my pie, and you can choose to do yours how you'd like to. I put my puree is a large bowl and stirred it until it was smooth. Then I added in the maple syrup and vanilla.


After mixing in those, I added in the eggs, the heavy cream and then my spices and sugar. (I did not mix these in a separate bowl first). Also, although the recipe did not call for it, I did add in a little ginger to my pie.


After that, it's time to pour it in the pie shell and bake your pie! I cheated here, and used a store bought pie shell...hey, baby steps to my homemade journey!


I did put mine in the oven for the first 15 minutes at 425 degrees and then turned it down to 350 degrees after that for about 90 minutes...I feel that I could've taken it out a little earlier, but it still tasted great!


I am including the recipe I used here. I found it on Pinterest, but the link no longer works. There is credit information on the photo itself.




5 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page