top of page
michelle

Michigan Blueberry Muffins...perfect for breakfast!

Easy Homemade Blueberry Muffins

Do you need a reminder of those summer months now that it’s cold out? Did you happen to freeze any Michigan blueberries this year? If you did and now is the time to enjoy those frozen berries!


Since this whole pandemic started, I have been trying to be more “old school” in my cooking/baking. Working full-time does not always make that easy. When the work day is done, dinner is over, and the kids are in bed I am tired. And, on my days off, I don’t want to put in a lot of extra “work” around the house. It’s easy to just go out and buy those blueberry muffins for Sunday morning. But…I’m trying. I am trying to put in a little extra work, and each time I do I realize that homemade just tastes better! There's no comparison. And, it's healthier too. I can pronounce all the ingredients I've used; unlike the ingredients found on most food labels.


I will share the recipe I used for some awesome blueberry muffins, and the instructions for baking them!


Ingredient list:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup granulated sugar, plus 1 tablespoon for muffin tops

1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt (I used Pink Himalayan sea salt)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/3 cup neutral-flavored oil (I used grapeseed oil)

1 large egg

1/3-1/2 cup milk

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

6-8 oz. (about 1 cup) fresh or frozen* blueberries

*keep berries frozen until you add them to the batter


Heat oven to 400 degrees F. Makes a dozen medium sized muffins. If you want bigger muffins you need to use 8 cups and fill them full. If you have empty cups, fill them with water to help your muffins bake evenly.


Here's my setup:


Whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.



Add oil to at least a 1-cup measuring cup. Then add in the egg. Fill the measuring cup with milk up to the 1 cup measuring line. Add the vanilla and whisk to combine.




Add milk mixture to the bowl with the dry ingredients, then use a fork to combine. Do not over mix. Muffin batter should be thick.



Fold in the blueberries.


Divide the batter between the muffin cups. Sprinkle a little sugar on each muffin top.

Bake muffins for 15 to 20 minutes or until tops are no longer wet and a toothpick inserted into the middle of a muffin comes out with crumbs, not wet batter. Transfer to a cooling rack.



They will store in a plastic bag at room temperature for 2-3 days. To freeze, wrap them tightly in aluminum foil or place them in freezer bags. Freeze up to 3 months.


Full recipe can be found at: https://www.inspiredtaste.net/18982/our-favorite-easy-blueberry-muffin-recipe/

14 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page